Hoymiles · HiBattery · Plug-in battery

Hoymiles HiBattery 4020 X Battery storage with 4 MPPT for installers

4.02 to 16.08 kWh (expansion on request) · 4 × 1,000 W PV · 800 W plug-and-play

The HiBattery 4020 X combines a 4.02 kWh LFP battery, an inverter and four MPP trackers in one enclosure. Up to eight modules can be connected, with 1,000 W per input, and the HB-4020-X delivers 800 W on the grid side. With up to three expansion packs HB-4020-S (available from PVSelected on request), the storage capacity grows to 16.08 kWh, and an off-grid port supplies up to 2,500 W during a grid outage.

  • 4 MPPT for up to 8 modules
  • LFP, ≥ 8,000 cycles at 70 % SOH
  • Off-grid port up to 2,500 W
  • 10-year warranty
Hoymiles HiBattery 4020 X, battery storage with integrated inverter, angled view from the right with operating screen
HB-4020-X · 520 × 384 × 199 mm · 42 kg

Certificates for the unit

  • VDE-AR-N 4105 unit certificate (TÜV NORD)
  • IEC 62109-1/-2 (TÜV NORD)
  • EMC 2014/30/EU (TÜV NORD)
  • RED incl. EN 18031 cybersecurity (DEKRA)

Test seals and manufacturer awards

Computer Bild test seal: SEHR GUT (very good), Hoymiles HiBattery 4020 X, hands-on test, computerbild.de, 12.08.2026
Computer Bild hands-on test, rated “sehr gut” (very good), computerbild.de, 12.08.2026 (www.cobi.de/41140997)
BloombergNEF Tier 1 Energy Storage badge, Q2 2026
BloombergNEF Tier 1 Energy Storage, Q2 2026, manufacturer award
EcoVadis Gold sustainability rating, top 5 %, March 2026
EcoVadis Gold, top 5 %, 03/2026, manufacturer sustainability rating

In brief

What the HiBattery
4020 X is

The Hoymiles HiBattery 4020 X (HB-4020-X) is a battery storage system with integrated inverter and four MPP trackers: an LFP battery with 4.02 kWh, up to 4 × 1,000 W PV input and 800 W on the grid side, ready to plug into a household socket with the supplied MS plug-and-play cable. A second, grid-independent port supplies up to 2,500 W during a grid outage. With up to three expansion packs HB-4020-S (available from PVSelected on request), it grows to 16.08 kWh. In our assessment, the German special rule for plug-in solar devices (§ 8(5a) EEG) no longer applies above 2 kW of installed module power (as of 09/2026, not legal advice).

PVSelected lists the HB-4020-X in its B2B shop as a single unit (item C220200003) and as a pallet of 12 units (C220200003P). Prices and availability are shown after you log in.

PVSelected supplies installers in Germany, Austria, Switzerland and the Netherlands. Warehouse: Halskestraße 3-5, 47877 Willich.

Device type
Battery storage with inverterLFP battery, 4 MPPT, single-phase L/N/PE, 230 V
Capacity
4.02 kWh314 Ah at 12.8 V; usable 3.62 kWh at 90 % depth of discharge
PV input
4 × 1,000 Wup to 8 modules, 60 V and 32 A per input, MPPT 16 to 60 V
Grid side
800 WHB-4020-X factory setting, plug-and-play; XM variant 2,500 W
Off-grid port
2,500 W230 V, 10.87 A; activate via button (at least 2 s)
Safety
48 protection functionsAerosol fire suppression, pressure relief valve, IP66

Why this battery

Six reasons for
the 4020 X

More modules than usual on one unit, plugging in instead of rewiring, power during grid outages and a battery that grows with demand. Six arguments for your customer conversations.

01 · PV input

Four MPP trackers, up to eight modules

The HiBattery 4020 X has four PV inputs, each with its own MPP tracker. Each input accepts up to 1,000 W, 60 V and 32 A input current, and the short-circuit current may reach 40 A. With a PV Y-branch cable, two modules run in parallel on one input, so up to eight modules fit on one unit.

Do not connect modules in series, and do not connect the connectors of one module to different inputs. Y-branch cables and DC extension cables are not included. MPPT range 16 to 60 V, start from 18 V.

For your customers: Modules with different orientations run on separate trackers and are each optimized individually.

4 × 1,000 WPV input power on four MPP trackers

Connection diagram HiBattery 4020 X: four PV inputs, on-grid and off-grid portDiagram: one or two PV modules are connected to each of the four PV inputs (one MPP tracker each), two modules in parallel via a Y-branch cable, not in series. On the right, the on-grid port leads to the household socket and the grid-independent port (off-grid) to a load. No power values.PV 1PV 2PV 3PV 4Y-branch cable: two modules in parallel per input, not in seriesHiBattery 4020 XBattery, inverter and4 MPPT in one enclosureOn-grid portHousehold socket(plug-and-play)Off-grid portLoad duringgrid outage (off-grid)Connection diagram HiBattery 4020 X: four PV inputs, on-grid and off-grid portDiagram: one or two PV modules are connected to each of the four PV inputs (one MPP tracker each), two modules in parallel via a Y-branch cable, not in series. On the right, the on-grid port leads to the household socket and the grid-independent port (off-grid) to a load. No power values.HiBattery 4020 XBattery, inverter and4 MPPT in one enclosurePV 1PV 2PV 3PV 4On-grid portHousehold socket(plug-and-play)Off-grid portLoad duringgrid outage (off-grid)Y-branch cable: two modulesin parallel per input, not in series
Connection diagram based on the user manual REV1.2: one or two modules per input, plus on-grid and off-grid port
02 · Grid connection

Plug-and-play with 800 W

The HB-4020-X is factory-set to deliver 800 W on the grid side. The supplied MS plug-and-play cable goes into the on-grid port and into the socket. Alternatively, the cable can be connected in the distribution board, single-phase or to one phase of a three-phase distribution board; according to the manual, only a qualified electrician may do this.

Hoymiles states 2,500 W on the grid side for the HB-4020-XM variant and, in its own shop, for a fixed connection by a qualified electrician with activation in the app (manufacturer information, not in the datasheet). The unit certificate lists the HB-4020-X with 800 VA, 2,500 VA only for the HB-4020-XM; clarify the required certificate with the grid operator in advance. PVSelected stocks the HB-4020-X.

For your customers: The plug-and-play basic installation requires no work on the house distribution board; for registration in Germany, see Legal situation.

800 Wgrid side, factory setting

MS cable of the Hoymiles HiBattery 4020 X plugged into a wall socket
Manufacturer image: MS plug-and-play cable in the wall socket
03 · Grid outage

Power during a grid outage

The grid-independent port supplies up to 2,500 W at 230 V. It is activated on the unit: press and hold the off-grid button for at least 2 seconds. A local load or a microinverter can be connected.

This is not a backup power supply for the house grid: only what is plugged into the off-grid port is supplied. Neither the datasheet nor the manual states a switchover time, and the scope of delivery does not list a cable for this port.

For your customers: A fridge or router keeps running during a power outage if it is connected to the off-grid port with a suitable cable (not included).

2,500 WOff-grid port, 230 V

Fridge and Hoymiles HiBattery 4020 X in a living room during a thunderstorm, the fridge keeps running
Manufacturer image: the fridge keeps running during a grid outage
04 · Expansion

Grows with demand: from 4.02 to 16.08 kWh

Up to three expansion packs HB-4020-S with 4.02 kWh each are stacked under the unit and screwed together at the sides. The maximum charging power increases with each pack, up to 6,500 W with three packs; according to the manual (X/XM), the maximum battery discharging power is 2,500 W from one pack onward. On the grid side, the HB-4020-X still delivers 800 W max., 2,500 W only at the off-grid port or with the XM variant.

The expansion pack HB-4020-S is not listed in the B2B shop; we will clarify availability on request. Stack only when unwired and switched off.

For your customers: Start with one unit and expand the capacity later with packs.

16.08 kWhwith three expansion packs

Hoymiles HiBattery 4020 X above an expansion pack, the plug connection between the two modules glows blue
Manufacturer image: unit above an expansion pack
05 · Safety

Safety down to cell level

The Hoymiles BMS monitors the battery with 48 integrated protection functions, balances the cells and balances at pack level via a DC/DC converter. In addition, there is a built-in aerosol fire suppression system, a pressure relief valve and over-temperature protection at the DC terminals.

Cells: LiFePO4 with 314 Ah. Below 0 °C, a heating film automatically brings the unit into the charging temperature range.

For your customers: LFP cells, fire suppression and pressure relief in the enclosure support installation indoors.

48protection functions in the BMS

Open enclosure of the HiBattery 4020 X with glowing LFP cells, surrounded by a shield symbol for the battery management system
Manufacturer illustration: battery management with 48 protection functions
06 · Energy management

Open for energy management

The battery is set up in the S-Miles Home app: self-consumption or TOU mode based on electricity prices, up to seven load power curves (one per day) and the output power via slider. For consumption-based control, the app pairs a Hoymiles meter or Shelly and Everhome devices; via the open MQTT protocol, you can integrate energy management systems from other providers.

Up to five Shelly devices and one smart meter per system, by default on the grid side. Connection via Bluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.

For your customers: The battery can be integrated into existing smart home and metering equipment.

MQTTopen protocol for third-party EMS

S-Miles Home app: selecting the operating modeRedrawn app screen for the operating mode with the options self-consumption and TOU mode (time-of-use tariffs) as well as recommended, general and advanced settings.Operating modeSelf-consumptionPV power is used primarily to supply theload, and surplus power is stored in thebattery.TOU modeSet up different charge and dischargeschedules based on electricity pricesto save on electricity costs.Recommended settingsGeneral settingsAdjust the charge/discharge plan.Advanced settingsDetailed adjustment of thecharge/discharge plan.OKS-Miles Home app: selecting the operating modeRedrawn app screen for the operating mode with the options self-consumption and TOU mode (time-of-use tariffs) as well as recommended, general and advanced settings.Operating modeSelf-consumptionPV power is used primarilyto supply the load, andsurplus power is stored inthe battery.TOU modeSet up different chargeand discharge schedulesbased on electricity pricesto save on electricity costs.Recommended settingsGeneral settingsAdjust the device'scharge/discharge plan.Advanced settingsDetailed adjustment of thecharge/discharge plan.OK
App screen for the operating mode, redrawn from the user manual

Variants

Four models and
one expansion pack

Hoymiles builds the HiBattery 4020 range in four base models (HB-4020-X, HB-4020-XM, HB-4020-AC, HB-4020-ACM) plus the expansion pack HB-4020-S. PVSelected stocks the HB-4020-X; the other variants are listed here for reference.

The HiBattery 4020 range compared
ModelCouplingPV inputGrid sideOff-gridCapacityDimensions W × H × DWeightAt PVSelected
HB-4020-XDC4 MPPT, 4 × 1,000 W800 W2,500 W4.02 kWh520 × 384 × 199 mm42 kgyes, single units and pallets
HB-4020-XMDC4 MPPT, 4 × 1,000 W2,500 W2,500 W4.02 kWh520 × 384 × 199 mm42 kgno
HB-4020-ACACno PV input800 W2,500 W4.02 kWh520 × 384 × 199 mm42 kgno
HB-4020-ACMACno PV input2,500 W2,500 W4.02 kWh520 × 384 × 199 mm42 kgno
HB-4020-SExpansion pack–––4.02 kWh520 × 275 × 199 mm35 kgon request

According to the datasheet, the battery data of HB-4020-X, HB-4020-XM, HB-4020-AC and HB-4020-ACM are identical: LFP, 314 Ah, 4.02 kWh, 2,000 W charging and discharging. HB-4020-AC and HB-4020-ACM are AC-coupled without PV input and intended for existing systems. The VDE-AR-N 4105 unit certificate and the EU test certificates list all 16 model designations (base models with -1, -2, -3 for one to three packs).

How to order the HiBattery 4020 X

Hoymiles HiBattery 4020 X in an angled view from the left with the PV ports on the side
Item C220200003

HB-4020-X, single unit

Battery storage with integrated inverter, 4.02 kWh, 800 W on the grid side. Supplied in the box with the MS plug-and-play cable, disconnect tool, manual and wall brackets.

Hoymiles HiBattery 4020 X next to a pallet with twelve units in original packaging
Item C220200003P

HB-4020-X, pallet

12 units on one pallet for installers who keep stock or run several projects.

Expansion

Expansion pack HB-4020-S

4.02 kWh, 520 × 275 × 199 mm, 35 kg, up to three packs per unit. Not listed in the B2B shop, availability on request.

Expansion stages

From 4 to 16 kWh:
the expansion stages

The images are shown at the same scale. The unit sits on top, with up to three expansion packs below. Charging power and capacity according to the manual, weight and height as calculated values from the datasheet, without clearances and feet.

Hoymiles HiBattery 4020 X as a single unit, 4.02 kWh
HB-4020-X4.02 kWh · H 384 mm
Hoymiles HiBattery 4020 X stacked with 1 expansion pack, 8.04 kWh
HB-4020-X-18.04 kWh · H 659 mm
Hoymiles HiBattery 4020 X stacked with 2 expansion packs, 12.06 kWh
HB-4020-X-212.06 kWh · H 934 mm
Hoymiles HiBattery 4020 X stacked with 3 expansion packs, 16.08 kWh
HB-4020-X-316.08 kWh · H 1,209 mm
Expansion stages HB-4020-X with expansion packs HB-4020-S
FeatureHB-4020-XHB-4020-X-1HB-4020-X-2HB-4020-X-3
Expansion packs0123
Capacity4.02 kWh8.04 kWh12.06 kWh16.08 kWh
Usable (calculated value)3.62 kWh7.24 kWh10.86 kWh14.48 kWh
Max. charging power2,000 W4,000 W6,000 W6,500 W
Max. battery discharging power ¹2,000 W2,500 W2,500 W2,500 W
Weight (calculated value)42 kg77 kg112 kg147 kg
Stack height (calculated value)384 mm659 mm934 mm1,209 mm

¹ Battery discharging power according to the manual (table for X and XM); on the grid side, the HB-4020-X still delivers 800 W max., 2,500 W only at the off-grid port or with the XM variant. Usable energy: 3.62 kWh per unit at 90 % depth of discharge according to the warranty terms, multiplied by the number of units (calculated value; Hoymiles does not state a system value). Weight 42 kg for the unit plus 35 kg per pack, height 384 mm plus 275 mm per pack (calculated values).

Expansion and module check

Does your module fit
the 4020 X?

Choose the expansion stage and enter the input assignment and module data. The check shows capacity, power and weight, verifies the limits per input and creates the parts list for your request.

450W
300 W600 W
45.0V
30 V70 V
14.0A
8 A25 A

Example values; please take them from your module datasheet

Limits per input according to the datasheet: 60 V input voltage, 40 A short-circuit current, 32 A input current, 1,000 W; max. 8 modules per unit, two modules in parallel via Y-cable, never in series. Enter the open-circuit voltage at the lowest temperature from the module datasheet; the check does not apply a temperature correction. It does not replace system planning.

Your system

HB-4020-XUnit without expansion pack

4.02kWhCapacity
3.62kWhUsable, calculated value
2,000WMax. charging power
2,000WMax. discharging power ¹
42kgWeight, calculated value
384mmStack height, calculated value

¹ Battery discharging power according to the manual (X/XM). On the grid side, the HB-4020-X delivers 800 W max., 2,500 W only at the off-grid port or with the XM variant.

Module check per input

    Parts list

      Limits per input according to the datasheet: 60 V input voltage, 40 A short-circuit current, 32 A input current, 1,000 W; max. 8 modules per unit, two modules in parallel via Y-cable, never in series. Enter the open-circuit voltage at the lowest temperature from the module datasheet; the check does not apply a temperature correction. It does not replace system planning.

      Legal situation · as of 09/2026

      Legal situation
      in Germany

      An assessment of German law for installers, not legal advice. The linked statutory texts (in German) and the requirements of the responsible grid operator are authoritative; assessments by the German consumer advice centers (Verbraucherzentralen) are marked as secondary sources.

      As of: 26.09.2026. Assessment of the legal situation in Germany, not legal advice.

      Qualified electrician testing a sub-distribution board with miniature circuit breakers using a measuring device
      Symbolic image
      1. Special rule for plug-in solar devices

        § 8(5a) of the German Renewable Energy Sources Act (EEG) allows the simplified connection of plug-in solar devices with a total of up to 2 kW installed power and up to 800 VA inverter power downstream of a final consumer's withdrawal point. The definition in § 3 no. 43 EEG names the solar system, inverter, connection cable and plug; it does not mention a battery.

      2. More PV or 2,500 W on the grid side

        The HiBattery 4020 X accepts up to 4 × 1,000 W of PV. If the installed module power exceeds 2 kW or 2,500 W is used on the grid side (XM variant, fixed connection), the limits of the special rule are exceeded in our assessment; the grid operator's regular connection rules then apply. Have this checked on a case-by-case basis.

      3. Fixed connection by installers only

        According to the manual, only a qualified electrician may carry out the connection in the distribution board. Apart from the grid operator, only installation companies registered in a grid operator's installer register may work on the electrical installation downstream of the main service fuse (§ 13(2) of the German Low Voltage Connection Ordinance, NAV).

      4. DIN VDE V 0126-95 does not apply to devices with storage

        According to the DKE, the German product standard for plug-in solar devices does not cover devices with energy storage; additional requirements apply to them, and a further part of the standard is planned. For the grid connection of the 4020 X, a unit certificate according to VDE-AR-N 4105 from TÜV NORD is available, with a restriction (see Certificates).

      5. Registration of PV system and battery

        In the Marktstammdatenregister (MaStR, the German market master data register), the PV system and the battery storage must be registered as two units, for balcony solar systems in one process (MaStR help pages), within one month of commissioning (§ 5(5) MaStRV). Under § 19(3) NAV, the grid operator must be notified before an own generating installation is set up, and its connection must be coordinated with the grid operator. Whether this applies to a battery on a plug-in solar device, and whether an electrician must register it, has not been conclusively clarified: the Federation of German Consumer Organisations (vzbv) says yes (assessment, secondary source, as of 06.03.2026), while the Verbraucherzentrale Niedersachsen (secondary source, as of 01.07.2026) only mentions the Marktstammdatenregister. Clarify the procedure with the responsible grid operator.

      6. Austria, Switzerland and the Netherlands

        National rules differ. We coordinate them with you and the responsible grid operator and provide the manufacturer documents.

      Installation and connection

      Set up, plug in,
      commission

      Installation, connection and commissioning according to the user manual REV1.2. This lets you plan materials and scheduling before the van leaves the yard.

      42kgUnit weight
      520×384mmWidth × height, depth 199 mm
      -20…55°COperation, derated above 40 °C according to TÜV NORD
      < 20dBNoise, natural convection
      Hand tapping the power button on the operating screen of the Hoymiles HiBattery 4020 X, the MS cable leads to the wall socket
      Switching on: press and hold the power button for at least 1.5 s
      Installation site

      Location and mounting

      Install indoors or in a protected location: the manual requires protection from direct sunlight and rain, and the warranty terms exclude locations with direct sun, rain or snow, even though the enclosure is rated IP66. Unit and packs are stacked, joined at the sides with M4 screws and secured to the wall with brackets (drilling depth at least 50 mm, M6 expansion screws, M5 screws).

      42 kg per unit and 35 kg per pack: lift using the carrying handles and with at least two people. We consider the minimum clearance stated in the manual to be a misprint and are clarifying it with Hoymiles; plan free space for cables and maintenance.

      Plug-and-play commissioning

      1. Set up; when expanding, stack the packs at the bottom and the unit on top and screw them together
      2. Plug the PV modules into the MC4 inputs PV 1 to PV 4 using DC extension cables or Y-branch cables
      3. Plug the MS plug-and-play cable into the on-grid port and into the socket
      4. Press and hold the power button for at least 1.5 s, pair the unit in the S-Miles Home app via Bluetooth and connect it to the 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
      Fixed connection, protection, connection panel and scope of delivery
      Fixed connection

      Connection in the distribution board

      Only by a qualified electrician: cut off the plug of the MS cable, strip the wires and connect single-phase to L, N and PE or to one phase of a three-phase distribution board. Beforehand, switch off the circuit breaker, verify the absence of voltage with a multimeter and wear insulating gloves.

      Protection class I; the protective earth runs via the MS cable. Hoymiles recommends a residual current device (RCD) or RCM type A on the feed-in side. Before working on the unit, wait at least 5 minutes after disconnecting all sources.

      Connection panel

      What is on the unit

      1. PV ports PV 1 to PV 4 (MC4)
      2. Operating screen with buttons
      3. Off-grid port
      4. On-grid port (MS cable)
      5. Fan port
      6. RS-485 communication port
      7. Pressure relief valve

      Scope of delivery HB-4020-X: unit, MS plug-and-play cable, disconnect tool, user manual, 2 brackets, 2 M6 expansion screws, 2 M5 screws. Not included: DC extension cables and PV Y-branch cables; the manual does not list a cable for the off-grid port. We will clarify both with your order.

      Safety

      Safety concept of the
      HiBattery 4020 X

      Four levels of protection according to the datasheet: battery management, balancing, fire suppression and pressure relief.

      Transparent enclosure of the HiBattery 4020 X, the cells are charged to different levels and are being balanced

      BMS with 48 protection functions, cell and pack balancing

      The BMS monitors voltage, current and temperature and balances the cells; between the unit and the expansion packs, a DC/DC converter balances at pack level. If the cell protection limits are exceeded, the BMS locks the unit; only Hoymiles technical support can unlock it, and the request is handled via us.

      Internal aerosol fire suppression system

      An aerosol fire suppression system is built into the enclosure. The animation shows the principle.

      Manufacturer animation, no sound
      Side view of the HiBattery 4020 X, gas escaping to the outside at the pressure relief valve

      Pressure relief valve and terminal protection

      A pressure relief valve on the side of the unit releases overpressure, and the DC terminals are protected against over-temperature.

      Cells LiFePO4, 314 Ah, ≥ 8,000 cycles at 70 % SOH. Below 0 °C, the heating film activates automatically. BMS lock and unlocking according to the manual.

      Upper part of the Hoymiles HiBattery 4020 X with LED operating screen for solar and battery power
      LED operating screen on the unit; the display values in the render are example values

      App and energy management

      App, MQTT
      and smart meter

      Setup and operation run via the S-Miles Home app for iOS and Android; an LED display on the unit shows the status. Protection settings are not read or set on the unit.

      • Operating modesself-consumption or TOU mode with recommended, general or advanced settings
      • Load curves and output powerup to seven load power curves, one per day; output power via slider
      • Meterspair a Hoymiles meter via Bluetooth and Wi-Fi, alternatively Shelly or Everhome; up to five Shelly devices and one smart meter per system
      • Open MQTTconnection to energy management systems from other providers
      • Connectivity and updatesBluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, firmware updates via the app

      We will agree with you which Hoymiles meter suits your system, for example for zero export.

      Application examples

      What the 4020 X
      looks like on site

      Manufacturer images from a covered loggia, a living area and of three expansion stages. The battery is installed protected from direct sun and rain, as required by the manual.

      Hoymiles HiBattery 4020 X on the wall of a covered loggia next to a glass door, protected from sun and rain
      On a covered loggia, protected from sun and rain, manufacturer image
      Hoymiles HiBattery 4020 X with expansion packs in a living area next to a floor-to-ceiling window front
      In a living area, unit with two expansion packs, manufacturer image
      Three Hoymiles HiBattery 4020 X units in different expansion stages in front of PV modules in blue light
      The HiBattery 4020 X in three expansion stages, manufacturer image

      Manufacturer

      Hoymiles: manufacturer of the
      HiBattery 4020 X

      The HiBattery 4020 X is made by Hoymiles Power Electronics Inc., based in Hangzhou. Warranty service for Europe is managed by Hoymiles Service EU in Eindhoven, and warranty claims are handled via the distributor. For energy storage, BloombergNEF lists Hoymiles as a Tier 1 manufacturer in Q2 2026.

      Hangzhouheadquarters and manufacturing
      EindhovenHoymiles Service EU
      Tier 1BloombergNEF Energy Storage, Q2 2026

      Technical data

      Technical data
      HiBattery 4020 X

      Values from the Hoymiles datasheet REV1.1, consistent with the user manual REV1.2; deviations are noted in the footnotes.

      All technical data (6 tables)
      DC input (PV)
      Inputs / MPP trackers4 / 4
      Max. number of PV modules8
      Max. input power4 × 1,000 W
      Max. input voltage60 V
      Max. input current4 × 32 A
      Max. short-circuit current4 × 40 A
      Start-up voltage min. / max.18 / 60 V
      MPPT voltage range16 to 60 V
      ConnectorsMC4
      AC on-grid
      Rated output powerX 800 W · XM 2,500 W
      Rated output currentX 3.48 A · XM 10.87 A
      Max. output powerX 800 W · XM 2,500 W ¹
      Max. input power (charging from the grid)2,500 W, 10.87 A
      Rated voltage230 V (180 to 270 V), L/N/PE
      Frequency50 Hz (45 to 55 Hz)
      Power factor> 0.99, adjustable from 0.8 leading to 0.8 lagging
      Harmonic distortion THD< 3 %
      AC off-grid
      Max. output power2,500 W
      Rated voltage, frequency230 V, 50 Hz
      Max. output current10.87 A
      Max. input power2,500 W, 10.87 A
      Power factor> 0.99, adjustable from 0.8 leading to 0.8 lagging
      Activationoff-grid button, at least 2 s
      Battery
      Battery typeLFP (LiFePO4)
      Cycles≥ 8,000 at 70 % SOH
      Rated capacity314 Ah
      Rated energy4,020 Wh
      Usable energy3.62 kWh at 90 % depth of discharge ²
      Rated voltage12.8 V
      Charge/discharge temperature-20 to 55 °C
      Charge/discharge power2,000 W rated and max.
      DC/DC voltage48 V
      Max. DC/AC efficiency96.5 %
      Round-trip efficiencynot specified
      General
      Dimensions W × H × D520 × 384 × 199 mm
      Weight42 kg
      Operating temperature-20 to 55 °C ³
      Storage temperature-30 to 60 °C
      Humidity, altitude5 to 100 %, up to 4,000 m
      Noise< 20 dB
      Coolingnatural convection
      Ingress protectionIP66 ⁴
      Topology, protection classisolated, protection class I
      DisplayLED status display, settings via app
      CommunicationBluetooth, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi ⁵
      AppS-Miles Home
      Warranty10 years
      Expansion pack HB-4020-S
      BatteryLFP, 314 Ah, 4,020 Wh, ≥ 8,000 cycles at 70 % SOH
      Rated voltage12.8 V (11.2 to 14.6 V)
      Charge/discharge power2,000 W rated and max.
      Dimensions W × H × D520 × 275 × 199 mm
      Weight35 kg
      Operating temperature, ingress protection-20 to 55 °C, IP66
      Warranty10 years
      At PVSelectedon request, not in the B2B shop

      ¹ The user manual REV1.2 combines X and XM in one column (rated 800 W, max. 2,500 W). For the HB-4020-X, the datasheet and certificates are authoritative: 800 W. ² According to the warranty terms. ³ The TÜV NORD certificate states a power reduction above 40 °C, the datasheet does not. ⁴ Despite IP66, protect from direct sun and rain (manual, warranty terms). ⁵ The unit also has an RS-485 port (manual, product overview); Hoymiles does not describe its function.

      As of: Hoymiles datasheet HiBattery 4020 X REV1.1 (04/2026), user manual REV1.2 (08/2026).

      Cover page of the Hoymiles datasheet HiBattery 4020 X (HB-4020-X, HB-4020-S), English
      Download

      Datasheet HiBattery 4020 X

      Hoymiles datasheet REV1.1 in English, including the pages on the expansion pack HB-4020-S. PDF.

      Download datasheet as PDF

      Further documents

      Certificates

      Certificates
      and warranty

      Which test certificates are available for the HiBattery 4020 X, what they cover and which warranty Hoymiles provides. You can download the certificates above in the technical data section.

      CertificateStandardsTest bodyReg. no.Date
      Grid connectionVDE-AR-N 4105:2018-11, DIN VDE V 0124-100:2020-06; unit certificate with restriction ¹TÜV NORD CERT447982305347629.04.2026
      Device safetyIEC 62109-1/-2, IEC 62477-1TÜV NORD CERT44 799 26 406749 - 21005.06.2026
      EMCDirective 2014/30/EU, EN IEC 61000-6-1 to -4, IEC 62920TÜV NORD (Taiwan)NE110526010918.05.2026, valid until 17.05.2031
      Radio, cybersecurityRadio Equipment Directive Art. 3(3)(d) and (e), EN 18031-1/-2DEKRA, Notified Body 190986866RNB.00103.06.2026
      EU conformity2014/53/EU, 2011/65/EU, (EU) 2015/863, (EU) 2023/1542Manufacturer's declaration–Manual REV1.2
      Further standards (manufacturer)IEC 62619, EN 300 328, EN 301 489-1/-17, EN 62311Hoymiles websiteCertificate not available to us–

      ¹ For installers: monitoring of the active power PAV,E is not integrated in the unit and can be implemented as a separate device in accordance with VDE-AR-N 4105 section 5.5.2. As the unit has no display for the protection settings, a read-out function must be implemented at the generating plant. The certificate applies to all 16 model designations of the range.

      The IEC and EMC certificates assess samples, not ongoing production. The RED certificate covers the cybersecurity requirements; Hoymiles declares the other requirements of the Radio Equipment Directive in the declaration of conformity.

      Warranty according to the Hoymiles warranty terms (Europe)

      10years of product warranty
      ≥ 70%of 4.02 kWh after 10 years
      27.2224MWhguaranteed throughput
      3.62kWhusable at 90 % depth of discharge
      Performance warranty
      at least 70 % of the 4.02 kWh after 10 years or up to 27.2224 MWh throughput, whichever occurs first
      Start
      the earlier of installation or 4 months after shipment by Hoymiles
      Deadlines
      installation within 6 months of the invoice date, report a failure within one month
      Handling
      end customer > installer > distributor > Hoymiles; Hoymiles replaces the unit, installation and commissioning costs are not covered
      Inspection fee
      EUR 100 per unit plus shipping if there is no warranty case
      Exclusions (excerpt)
      location with direct sun, rain or snow, operation outside -20 to 55 °C, insufficient ventilation

      According to the document, the terms apply to the HB-4020-X, the HB-4020-AC and the expansion pack HB-4020-S in Europe.

      Your benefits

      9 reasons why installers trust PVSelected

      Everything you need to make your PV business more efficient, more profitable and more reliable.

      Exclusive B2B terms

      Attractive wholesale prices, volume discounts and transparent availability, directly in your personal B2B shop.

      Technical support and warranty

      From the initial consultation to commissioning. As the distributor, we handle warranty claims directly with Hoymiles.

      Free training

      Practical training in the PVSelected Academy: product knowledge, installation, sales and commissioning.

      Personal contact

      No call center, no ticket system. One dedicated contact person who knows your projects and requirements.

      B2B shop with real-time data

      Your own online access with real-time stock levels, individual prices, order history and easy reordering.

      Single units or by the pallet

      We deliver the HiBattery 4020 X as single units or as a pallet of 12, directly to the job site or to your warehouse.

      Planning and module layout

      Support with module assignment, expansion stage and accessories, so that the system fits at the first appointment.

      Documents for the grid operator

      We compile the unit certificate, datasheet and manual for your registration. We request anything missing from Hoymiles.

      No end-customer business

      We supply installers and trade partners exclusively, so we never compete with you for your own orders.

      500+active installer partners
      24–48hdelivery time for stock items
      DACH+NLdelivery area
      Willichwarehouse and shipping

      It's that simple

      Three steps
      to your quote

      No paperwork, no long waiting times. From request to delivery from our Willich warehouse.

      1

      Submit a request

      Expansion stage, module assignment and quantity via the form. The expansion and module check above gives you the values.

      2

      Terms and availability

      Your personal contact gets back to you within 24 hours with the price for a single unit or pallet, the availability of the expansion packs and suitable accessories.

      3

      Delivery from Willich

      Stock items usually reach you within 24 to 48 hours, at your warehouse or directly on site, together with the datasheet, manual and certificates.

      Frequently asked questions

      What installers
      ask about the 4020 X

      Answers from the datasheet, user manual, certificates and warranty terms. Your question is not listed? Call us at +49 2154 5029131 or submit a request.

      What is the difference between HB-4020-X, HB-4020-XM, HB-4020-AC and HB-4020-S?

      HB-4020-X and HB-4020-XM are DC-coupled with four PV inputs and four MPP trackers; the X delivers 800 W on the grid side, the XM 2,500 W. HB-4020-AC and HB-4020-ACM have no PV input and are intended for existing systems, also with 800 W or 2,500 W. All four have the same LFP battery with 4.02 kWh and an off-grid port with 2,500 W. HB-4020-S is the expansion pack with 4.02 kWh, 520 × 275 × 199 mm and 35 kg.

      Which variant does PVSelected supply?

      We stock the HB-4020-X with 800 W on the grid side, as a single unit (item C220200003) and as a pallet of 12 units (C220200003P). HB-4020-XM, HB-4020-AC and HB-4020-ACM are not in the B2B shop; please request the expansion pack HB-4020-S from us.

      Can the 4020 X feed in 2,500 W, and who carries out a fixed connection?

      According to the datasheet and certificates, the HB-4020-X feeds 800 W into the grid. Hoymiles states 2,500 W on the grid side for the XM variant and, in its own shop, for a fixed connection by a qualified electrician with activation in the app (manufacturer information, not in the datasheet). The unit certificate lists the HB-4020-X with 800 VA, 2,500 VA only for the HB-4020-XM; clarify the required certificate with the grid operator in advance. According to the manual, only a qualified electrician may carry out the connection in the distribution board; in Germany, only a registered installation company may work downstream of the main service fuse (§ 13(2) NAV). The 2,500 W at the off-grid port only concern the loads connected there.

      Is the 4020 X with 4 kW of PV still a balcony solar system?

      In Germany, the special rule for plug-in solar devices in § 8(5a) EEG applies up to 2 kW of installed power and 800 VA of inverter power. The 4020 X accepts up to 4 × 1,000 W of PV; with more than 2 kW of module power, the special rule is exceeded in our assessment, and the grid operator's regular connection rules then apply. As of 09/2026, assessment of German law, not legal advice.

      Does the battery have to be registered?

      In Germany, yes: in the Marktstammdatenregister (MaStR) as a separate unit alongside the PV system, for balcony solar systems in the same process, within one month of commissioning (§ 5(5) MaStRV). Whether an additional registration with the grid operator by an electrician is required has not been conclusively clarified: § 19(3) NAV requires notification before an own generating installation is set up, and the German consumer advice centers assess the battery case differently (federal association vzbv, as of 06.03.2026: yes). Clarify this with the responsible grid operator. As of 09/2026, not legal advice.

      Does DIN VDE V 0126-95 apply to the 4020 X?

      According to the DKE, the German product standard for plug-in solar devices does not cover devices with energy storage; a further part of the standard is planned. We therefore do not claim conformity with this standard. For the grid connection, a unit certificate according to VDE-AR-N 4105 from TÜV NORD is available (reg. no. 4479823053476), with a restriction regarding power monitoring.

      Does the 4020 X provide backup power?

      It has a grid-independent port with up to 2,500 W at 230 V, activated with the off-grid button (press and hold for at least 2 seconds). Only the load or microinverter connected there is supplied, not the house grid. Neither the datasheet nor the manual states a switchover time.

      How many modules and what voltage fit?

      Up to eight modules: per input, one directly or two in parallel via a PV Y-branch cable, never in series. Per input, the limits are 60 V input voltage, 32 A input current, 40 A short-circuit current and 1,000 W; the MPPT range is 16 to 60 V, start from 18 V. Check the open-circuit voltage at the lowest temperature on site, for example with our module check.

      To how many kWh can the 4020 X be expanded?

      With up to three expansion packs HB-4020-S to 8.04, 12.06 or 16.08 kWh. The maximum charging power rises to 4,000, 6,000 and 6,500 W, and according to the manual (X/XM), the maximum battery discharging power rises to 2,500 W from one pack onward. On the grid side, the HB-4020-X still delivers 800 W max., 2,500 W only at the off-grid port or with the XM variant. The pack is not listed in the B2B shop; please request it.

      Can the 4020 X be installed outdoors?

      The enclosure is rated IP66, but the manual still requires protection from direct sunlight and rain, and the warranty terms exclude locations with direct sun, rain or snow. We recommend installation indoors, for example in a utility room or basement, within the operating range of -20 to 55 °C.

      Which meter is needed for control?

      The 4020 X works with Hoymiles meters as well as Shelly and Everhome devices; up to five Shelly devices and one smart meter are possible per system, by default on the grid side. For zero export, Hoymiles names the Hoymiles Smart Meter in its own shop; we will agree with you which model suits your system.

      Which warranty applies, and how is a warranty claim handled?

      10 years of product warranty and a performance warranty of at least 70 % of the 4.02 kWh or 27.2224 MWh throughput, whichever occurs first. The warranty starts with installation, at the latest 4 months after shipment by Hoymiles; installation must take place within 6 months of the invoice date. Warranty claims go from the installer via us as the distributor to Hoymiles, and the unit is replaced.

      Technical assessment

      Where the 4020 X is
      the right approach

      Where the battery has its strengths, where it reaches its limits and what this means for your quote and installation.

      What the 4020 X is suited for

      For systems with up to eight modules where battery, inverter and MPP trackers are to be combined in one unit: balcony, carport, garden shed or small roof areas with up to four orientations. Plug-and-play with 800 W, expandable in steps of 4.02 kWh.

      Limits you should know

      No location with direct sun or rain. Factory setting of 800 W on the grid side (unit certificate of the X: 800 VA), more only with the XM variant or a fixed connection according to the manufacturer. No backup power for the house grid, only the off-grid port. Hoymiles does not state a round-trip efficiency, and the expansion pack is not listed in the B2B shop.

      Legal aspects in Germany, in brief

      In our assessment, the German special rule for plug-in solar devices no longer applies above 2 kW of module power; the fixed connection belongs in the hands of an installer, and the PV system and battery must be registered in the Marktstammdatenregister. Details and sources in the Legal situation section.

      What PVSelected contributes

      We clarify the expansion stage, module assignment and accessories before you order, obtain answers to open points from Hoymiles and handle warranty claims as the distributor. Requests are handled via our request form; single units and pallets can be ordered directly in the B2B shop.

      SourcesHoymiles datasheet HiBattery 4020 X REV1.1 (© 2026) · Datasheet HB-4020-AC/HB-4020-ACM REV1.1 · User manual HB-4020-X REV1.2 (08/2026) · Warranty Terms & Conditions HiBattery 4020 Series, Europe · TÜV NORD CERT unit certificate 4479823053476 and Certificate of Conformity 44 799 26 406749 - 210 · TÜV NORD Taiwan NE1105260109 · DEKRA 86866RNB.001 · hoymiles.com and shop.hoymiles.com (accessed 26.09.2026) · §§ 3, 8 EEG, §§ 13, 19 NAV and § 5 MaStRV (gesetze-im-internet.de) · DKE FAQ on DIN VDE V 0126-95 · MaStR help pages · Verbraucherzentrale Bundesverband and Niedersachsen · B2B shop b2b.pvselected.de, as of 26.09.2026. All information is provided without guarantee; the current manufacturer documents are authoritative. More basics in our PV knowledge section (in German).