Hoymiles · Battery for plug-in solar
Hoymiles HiBattery 1920 AC Retrofit battery storage for installers
1.92 kWh AC-coupled · 800 VA factory setting · 3.84 kWh with two units
The Hoymiles HiBattery 1920 AC, HiBattery AC for short, is installed between the existing microinverter and the socket. It stores 1.92 kWh, or 3.84 kWh as a pair with the Expansion Set (calculated value), and delivers up to 800 VA on the grid side as a factory setting.
- Retrofit via the socket, no changes on the balcony
- LFP cells, at least 6,000 cycles
- 10-year warranty according to the datasheet
- Unit and Expansion Set in the B2B shop

In brief
What the Hoymiles
HiBattery 1920 AC is
The Hoymiles HiBattery 1920 AC (HiBattery AC for short, model HB-1920-AC-SV) is an AC-coupled battery for plug-in solar systems. It has no PV input of its own and is combined with an existing microinverter.
According to the manual, two units can be stacked into one system, 3.84 kWh in total (calculated value). PVSelected stocks the HiBattery 1920 AC and the matching HB-1920-AC-Expansion Set in its B2B shop.
PVSelected supplies installers in Germany, Austria, Switzerland and the Netherlands. Warehouse: Halskestraße 3-5, 47877 Willich.
- Coupling
- AC. no PV input of its own, combined with a microinverter
- Capacity
- 1.92 kWh. LiFePO4; Hoymiles does not state the usable capacity; 3.84 kWh as a pair (calculated value)
- Grid side, factory setting
- 800 VA. plug-and-play via the supplied MS-Plug-and-Play cable
- PV connection
- Microinverter. via the off-grid port, input technically up to 1,800 VA
- Off-grid port
- 800 VA. for individual loads during a grid outage, briefly 1,200 VA for 10 s
- Weight
- 24 kg. 460 × 240 × 203 mm, fanless, below 17 dB(A)

For existing systems
The balcony system
stays as it is
Modules and microinverter stay on the railing. The HiBattery 1920 AC is added indoors, between the microinverter and the socket.
HiBattery 1920 AC
HiBattery 1920 AC: battery for existing plug-in solar systems
The HiBattery 1920 AC, HiBattery AC for short, model HB-1920-AC-SV, is AC-coupled. It takes the power of the existing microinverter at its off-grid port and delivers it to the household grid via the Schuko socket, with up to 800 VA as a factory setting.
Retrofit without changing the PV side
The microinverter is plugged into the off-grid port of the HiBattery with the supplied MS-Off-Grid cable, and the HiBattery is plugged into the Schuko socket with the MS-Plug-and-Play cable. Modules, microinverter and wiring on the balcony stay as they are.
For your customers: No work on the railing, no new inverter: the battery is simply added.
According to the manual, the HiBattery AC can also be operated at any socket in the house, controlled via a smart meter, while the microinverter feeds in independently. Two devices then feed in, and in our assessment the total inverter power counts for the special rule for plug-in solar devices in Germany. We recommend the standard setup via the off-grid port.
1,800 VAmax. input power at the off-grid port
Plug-and-play, factory-set to 800 VA
On the grid side, the 1920 AC delivers 800 VA at 3.48 A, single-phase at 230 V. It is a protection class I device; the protective earth runs in the supplied MS-Plug-and-Play cable, and according to the manual no additional earthing is required.
For your customers: Plug in, set up in the app, done.
The output power can be adjusted in the app with a slider. The legal limits that apply in Germany are explained below under Legal situation.
800 VAon the grid side, factory setting

Power for individual loads during a grid outage
The off-grid port is both input and output. In off-grid mode, activated with the off-grid button (hold for 1 to 2 seconds), it delivers up to 800 VA, briefly 1,200 VA for 10 seconds. That is enough for individual loads; Hoymiles does not describe a supply of the household grid.
For your customers: Individual loads such as a router or lighting can run at the off-grid port during a power outage, provided the port is free for this (see note below).
In the standard setup, the microinverter is plugged into the off-grid port. The manual does not describe how loads and the microinverter are operated there together; we will clarify this with Hoymiles and with you as part of your request.
1,200 VApeak for 10 seconds at the off-grid port

LFP cells, quiet and fanless
LiFePO4 cells with at least 6,000 cycles, self-heating in cold conditions and cooling by natural convection without a fan. A built-in fire suppression device and pressure relief valves protect the battery.
For your customers: No fan noise in the utility room, plus a robust cell chemistry.
Charging and discharging each at -20 to +55 °C, battery charging and discharging power 1,000 VA. Hoymiles states the efficiencies as maximum values.
≥ 6,000cycles according to the datasheet
Expansion
Expanding the HiBattery 1920 AC: 3.84 kWh with Expansion Set
According to the manual, two HiBattery AC units are stacked on top of each other in one system, connected with stacking brackets and linked via a parallel cable. The parallel cable and mounting kit are available separately; in our B2B shop, we stock the HB-1920-AC-Expansion Set for this.

One unit

Two units stacked
Both images to the same scale. The stacked view is based on the Hoymiles render; brackets and parallel cable are not shown.

HB-1920-AC-Expansion Set (AS020005)
According to the product image in the shop: one parallel connection cable with two connectors and four metal brackets, no battery. The shop does not provide a parts list; we will confirm the contents with your request.
Parts list for 3.84 kWh
- 2 × HiBattery 1920 AC (CV120002)
- 1 × HB-1920-AC-Expansion Set (AS020005)
In the app, both units on the same Wi-Fi network are set up as one system.
In a pair, only the upper unit is connected to the socket; the lower one feeds into the upper unit's off-grid port via the parallel cable. The manual does not state a power rating for the pair; the Hoymiles websites state 800 W or 800 to 1,600 W. We will clarify the value with Hoymiles. Larger expansion stages, as described on the Hoymiles website, are not documented in the manual; we will only list them once Hoymiles confirms the setup in writing.
Installation and app
Mounting, location
and setup
From the user manual REV1.1: what is needed on site, where the unit may be placed and how it is added to the app.
Floor or wall
For floor installation, a level, stable surface is sufficient; the rear side keeps a distance of at least 1 cm from the wall. For wall mounting, the mounting kit with brackets and screws is ordered separately: drill hole ø 8 mm, at least 50 mm deep, M6 × 50 expansion bolts at 9 N·m, the bracket on the unit with M5 × 10 at 1.5 to 2 N·m.
Scope of delivery: HiBattery 1920 AC, MS-Plug-and-Play cable, MS-Off-Grid cable and user manual.
Protected from sun and rain
The manual requires the HiBattery to be protected from direct sunlight and rain, although the datasheet states IP66. Install it out of reach of children and pets, do not stand on it, and keep it away from fire, heat sources and flammable gases.
Manufacturer's EU declaration of conformity: class B (residential). Battery maintenance should only be carried out by a qualified electrician.

S-Miles Home app and meters
- Setupvia Bluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, status via LED bar and app; the buttons can be locked in the app
- Operating modesSelf-consumption and TOU mode with recommended settings or custom daily and weekly schedules. Hoymiles calls the mode “AI-integrated TOU”; we do not promise any specific savings with it
- Load curves and powerup to seven load power curves, one per day; output power via slider
- Meters and smart plugsone smart meter per system, grid-side by default, plus up to five Shelly devices; the manual names Shelly Pro 3EM and EcoTracker
- Two unitsboth on the same Wi-Fi network; in the app, tap “Continue adding” and start communication
The documents do not state whether the Hoymiles meter from our shop works with the HiBattery; we will clarify this with Hoymiles before recommending it.
Technical data
Technical data HiBattery 1920 AC (HB-1920-AC-SV)
All values from the Hoymiles datasheet REV1.1, identical to the table in the user manual REV1.1. The footnotes are paraphrased.
| Rated apparent power | 800 VA |
|---|---|
| Max. apparent power | 800 VA ¹ |
| Grid | Single-phase, 230 V (180 to 270 V) ² |
| Frequency | 50 Hz (45 to 55 Hz) ² |
| Rated and max. current | 3.48 A ³ |
| Power factor | > 0.99, adjustable from 0.8 leading to 0.8 lagging |
| Max. output apparent power | 800 VA |
|---|---|
| Peak | 1,200 VA for 10 s |
| Plug type | Schuko |
| Voltage, frequency | 230 V, 50 Hz |
| Max. output current | 3.48 A |
| Total harmonic distortion | < 3 % at linear load |
| Max. input power | 1,800 VA |
| Max. input current | 7.83 A |
| Capacity | 1.92 kWh |
|---|---|
| Cell type | LiFePO4 |
| Cycles | ≥ 6,000 |
| Charging and discharging temperature | -20 to +55 °C |
| Charging and discharging power | 1,000 VA |
| Usable capacity | Not specified |
| Efficiency | 96.5 % bidirectional, 87 % round-trip, each a maximum value ⁴ |
| Dimensions L × W × H | 460 × 240 × 203 mm |
|---|---|
| Weight | 24 kg |
| Ingress protection | IP66 ⁵ |
| Mounting | Floor or wall, mounting kit sold separately |
| Cooling | Natural convection, fanless |
| Operating noise | < 17 dB(A) |
| Wireless | Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi |
| Interface | LED and app |
| Warranty | 10 years according to the datasheet |
| Grid compliance | VDE-AR-N 4105:2018 |
|---|---|
| Safety | IEC 62477-1, IEC 62619, IEC 63056, UN 38.3 |
| EMC | EN 61000-6-1/-2/-3/-4, EN 61000-3-2/-3 |
| EU directives | 2014/53/EU, 2011/65/EU, (EU) 2015/863, (EU) 2023/1542 |
¹ According to the datasheet, adjustable up to 2,000 VA in the S-Miles Home app. Above 800 VA, the German special rule for plug-in solar devices is exceeded in our assessment, see Legal situation. ² Voltage and frequency ranges may vary depending on local requirements. ³ Ratio of the maximum output apparent power to the rated voltage.
⁴ Datasheet 87 %, Hoymiles website and promotional graphic 86 %; we state the datasheet value. ⁵ Datasheet and manual table IP66, one safety note in the manual IP65; the manual requires protection from direct sun and rain. Standards according to the manufacturer's datasheet; we do not yet have certificates for the 1920 AC. We will compile the documents for the grid operator on request.

Datasheet and manual HiBattery 1920 AC
Hoymiles datasheet REV1.1 (English, PDF, 0.2 MB) and user manual REV1.1 (English, German, French, Dutch, PDF, 18 MB), provided via our B2B shop.
Compliance
Standards and
awards
The standards according to the Hoymiles datasheet and the EU directives from the manual are listed in the technical data. We show manufacturer awards with source and date.
Grid compliance, safety, EMC and EU directives of the HiBattery 1920 AC according to the manufacturer are listed together in the technical data.
PVSelected does not yet have the certificates for the 1920 AC; we are requesting them from Hoymiles and will compile the documents for the grid operator on request.


Both awards apply to Hoymiles as the manufacturer, not to an individual product.
Manufacturer
Hoymiles: manufacturer from Hangzhou, support in Europe
The HiBattery 1920 AC comes from Hoymiles Power Electronics, headquartered in Hangzhou. For Europe, the manual names a Sales and Support Center in Eindhoven, including support in English and German. PVSelected supplies it as a distributor from its warehouse in Willich.
Legal situation
German law in brief
(as of 09/2026)
Four points of German law that you should tell your customers before they buy, each with a source for further reading.
As of 09/2026, our assessment, not legal advice
- The special rule for plug-in solar devices in § 8(5a) EEG (German Renewable Energy Sources Act) applies up to 2 kW of installed power and 800 VA of total inverter power; the HiBattery 1920 AC delivers 800 VA on the grid side as a factory setting.
- In our assessment, the special rule is exceeded if the 1920 AC is set above 800 VA in the app, if a microinverter above 800 VA is connected to the off-grid port (up to 1,800 VA is technically possible) or if the microinverter also feeds in at its own socket (the total of both inverters then counts); the grid operator's regular connection rules then apply.
- Batteries are recorded as a separate unit in the Marktstammdatenregister (German market master data register); registration is due within one month of commissioning (§ 5(5) MaStRV). Whether an additional registration with the grid operator by an electrician is required is answered differently by the consumer advice centers (Verbraucherzentrale Bundesverband, as of 06.03.2026: yes; Verbraucherzentrale Niedersachsen, as of 01.07.2026: only the Marktstammdatenregister); check with the grid operator.
- The product standard DIN VDE V 0126-95 for plug-in solar devices does not cover devices with energy storage; the DKE plans a further part of the standard for such devices (DKE FAQ of 17.12.2025).
It's that simple
Three steps
to your quote
No paperwork, no long waiting times. From selection to delivery from our Willich warehouse.
Make your selection
One unit or two with Expansion Set: clarify the existing system, microinverter and required capacity.
Request or shop
Via the form, you receive the sizing and price for your quantity within 24 hours. With shop access, you order directly.
Delivery from Willich
Stock items usually reach you within 24 to 48 hours, together with the manufacturer documents for registration.
Your benefits
9 reasons why installers trust PVSelected
Everything you need to sell batteries for plug-in solar efficiently and reliably.
Exclusive B2B terms
Attractive wholesale prices, volume discounts and transparent availability, directly in your personal B2B shop.
HiBattery 1920 AC in the shop
The unit and the HB-1920-AC-Expansion Set for 3.84 kWh (calculated value). Prices and stock levels after login.
Technical support
From product selection and grid connection questions to commissioning: our technical team is at your side.
Free training
Practical training in the PVSelected Academy: product knowledge, installation, sales.
Personal contact
No call center, no ticket system. One dedicated contact person who knows your projects.
Reliable supply chains
Our own warehouse capacity in Willich, delivery to your warehouse or directly to the job site.
Selection and sizing
We help you decide whether one unit or two with the Expansion Set is the right fit and how the HiBattery integrates into the existing system.
Documents for the grid operator
We compile the datasheet, manual and manufacturer information on grid compliance for registration. We request anything missing from Hoymiles.
No end-customer business
We supply installers and trade partners exclusively, so we never compete with you for your own orders.
Frequently asked questions
Common questions about
the HiBattery 1920 AC
Answers from the datasheet, manual and manufacturer documents. Your question is not listed? Call us at +49 2154 5029131 or submit a request.
Does the HiBattery 1920 AC work with an existing balcony solar system?
That is what it is designed for: it is installed between the microinverter and the socket, and nothing changes on the modules or wiring. Technically, the microinverter can deliver up to 1,800 VA to the off-grid port (limit according to the datasheet). For the German special rule for plug-in solar devices (§ 8(5a) EEG), the total inverter power of up to 800 VA counts; in our assessment, a larger microinverter falls under the regular connection rules. As of 09/2026, not legal advice.
How can the HiBattery 1920 AC be expanded?
According to the manual, with a second unit: both are stacked, connected with stacking brackets and linked via a parallel cable, 3.84 kWh in total (calculated value). The manual does not describe more than two units per system. In the app, both are set up as one system on the same Wi-Fi network.
What does the HB-1920-AC-Expansion Set contain?
According to the product image in the B2B shop, a parallel connection cable and four metal brackets, no battery. The shop does not provide a parts list; we will confirm the contents with your request. For 3.84 kWh, order two HiBattery 1920 AC (CV120002) and one Expansion Set (AS020005).
Does the HiBattery 1920 AC need an electrician?
The manual describes a plug connection: MS-Plug-and-Play cable into the Schuko socket, with the protective earth running in the cable. However, the German Verbraucherzentrale Bundesverband (federation of consumer organizations) states (assessment, as of 06.03.2026) that batteries must be registered with the grid operator and connected by a licensed electrician even for plug-in solar; the Verbraucherzentrale Niedersachsen (as of 01.07.2026) only mentions the Marktstammdatenregister. Check with the grid operator; legal situation in Germany as of 09/2026, not legal advice.
Does the HiBattery 1920 AC work with microinverters from other manufacturers?
In the application diagram, the manual shows “any inverter” and describes the HiBattery AC as compatible with all PV systems. The microinverter is plugged into the MS-Off-Grid cable with its mains plug; the datasheet states Schuko as the plug type of the off-grid port. The limit is 1,800 VA of input power.
Which meters and operating modes does the HiBattery 1920 AC support?
Self-consumption mode and TOU mode, in TOU mode with recommended settings or custom daily and weekly schedules, plus up to seven load power curves. One smart meter per system, grid-side by default, and up to five Shelly devices; the manual names Shelly Pro 3EM and EcoTracker. Everything is set up in the S-Miles Home app.
Does the HiBattery 1920 AC provide backup power?
At the off-grid port, it delivers up to 800 VA in off-grid mode, briefly 1,200 VA for 10 s; in the standard setup, however, this port is occupied by the microinverter. We will clarify with Hoymiles whether loads can also run there. Hoymiles does not describe a supply of the household grid during a grid outage. You switch on off-grid mode with the off-grid button (hold for 1 to 2 seconds).
Can the HiBattery 1920 AC be installed outdoors?
The datasheet states IP66, but the manual requires the unit to be protected from direct sunlight and rain. We recommend installing it indoors.
What warranty and service life does the HiBattery 1920 AC have?
According to the datasheet, a 10-year warranty and at least 6,000 cycles; we do not yet have the warranty terms for it. We do not state a service life in years because the datasheet does not specify one.
What legal rules apply to the HiBattery 1920 AC in Germany?
In Germany, the special rule for plug-in solar devices in § 8(5a) EEG applies up to 2 kW of installed power and 800 VA of inverter power; the 1920 AC delivers 800 VA on the grid side as a factory setting. Batteries are recorded as a separate unit in the Marktstammdatenregister. The assessment with all sources is above under Legal situation; as of 09/2026, not legal advice.
Where can installers buy the Hoymiles HiBattery 1920 AC?
In the PVSelected B2B shop: HiBattery 1920 AC (CV120002) and HB-1920-AC-Expansion Set (AS020005). Prices are shown after you log in. For larger quantities and projects, please use the request form.
Assessment and sources
Where the
HiBattery 1920 AC fits
Where the HiBattery 1920 AC has its strengths, where it reaches its limits and what PVSelected contributes.
What the 1920 AC is suited for
For existing plug-in solar systems with a microinverter where nothing is to be changed on the balcony. Technically, the 1920 AC accepts up to 1,800 VA; for the special rule for plug-in solar devices in Germany, the total inverter power of up to 800 VA counts, and in our assessment a larger microinverter falls under the regular connection rules. With a second unit and the Expansion Set, the storage grows to 3.84 kWh (calculated value). Quiet and fanless, installed where it is protected from sun and rain.
Limits you should know
No location with direct sun or rain, despite IP66 in the datasheet. The 1920 AC has no PV input of its own, Hoymiles does not state its usable capacity, and we do not yet have certificates. The manual does not describe more than two units per system.
What PVSelected contributes
We check the existing system, microinverter and expansion plans before you order, obtain missing manufacturer information from Hoymiles and have the documents for the grid operator ready. Requests are handled via our request form; units and the Expansion Set can be ordered directly in the B2B shop.

